Books, Books, Books!

With lots of time on my hands, I find that I spend a lot of time reading. It feels like a luxury that I haven’t had since I spent my ‘youth’ studying for exams, so I must indulge now! Although it would be great to hit 100 books this year, I’ll just continue reading as much as I can. As I’m sure I’ve mentioned countless times before, my library card is the best $12 I spend every year!

I have had a couple people ask about what personal finance books I would recommend (honest, there have been people who have asked!). As I scroll through my excel list of the books I have read during my ‘retirement’ (I TOLD you I ❤ excel!), it was hard to narrow down the list as I really do enjoy reading finance books. But the following are books that I would read over and over again, and, more often than not, have inspired blog posts.

–          The Wealthy Barber and The Wealthy Barber Returns by David Chilton. The tone is conversational and he is very entertaining! I picked up The Wealthy Barber Returns a couple weeks ago and I have gone through it twice. AND I gave it to a friend who, with a huge sigh, reluctantly started reading, and was chuckling by the second page. He finished it off, learned some things, and actually ENJOYED it.

–          The Elements of Investing by Charles D. Ellis. He was a managing partner of Greenwich Associates, a past trustee at Yale University and chair of their investment committee, and director of Vanguard (I ❤ Vanguard!) He has written 14 books, but I believe this one would be great for beginners. It’s simple and sweet (AND SHORT!) and can be read in an hour or two. If you want more, I would also recommend Winning the Loser’s Game.

–          The New Coffeehouse Investor by Bill Schultheis. Another GREAT book for beginners. Conversational tone. Lots of basic, easy-to-read information.

–          The Lazy Person’s Guide to Investing by Paul Farrell. The title says it all.

–          Your Money or Your Life by Vicki Robin & Joe Dominguez. Easily one of the most influential books I have read on my life. This one requires a bit of work (calculating your net worth and budgeting) but things I believe everyone should be doing to become more financially responsible. The exercise where you calculate all the money that has come into your hands and what you have to show for it was eye opening for me, and it is largely responsible for leading me to where I am today.

–          Stop Acting Rich and Start Living Like a Millionaire by Thomas Stanley. Pretty bold title. This is more about the psychology behind personal finance and society’s (warped) perceptions on being successful. Consumerism is big business in our society, but at what cost?

–          Four Pillars of Investing by William Bernstein. Definitely a more intermediate read that covers the theory, history, psychology and business of investing.

–          Common Sense on Mutual Funds and The Little Book of Common Sense Investing by John C. Bogle. The founder of Vanguard. Need I say more?

–          Paths to Wealth through Common Stocks by Philip A. Fisher. For those who are interested in choosing their own stocks. But I highly recommend reading the above books before checking this one out.

Like I said, it was HARD to choose just a couple to recommend. But I think if you go through the ones above, you’ll have a pretty good foundation to take care of your personal finances. I highly recommend putting them on hold at the library and check them out! Let me know what you think!

The following are the books I currently have on my night stand:

–          101 Tax Secrets for Canadians by Tim Cestnick

–          The 50 biggest estate planning mistakes by Jean Blacklock and Sarah Kruger

–          The Food Revolution by John Robbins

–          Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

–          The Wealthy Barber Returns by David Chilton (of course! I have to return it and I’m a little sad to let it go.)

Have you read any of the above books? What did you think about it? Do you have any books (personal finance or ANYTHING) that you would recommend to me?

I need your help! As this is a new blog, please spread the word on Facebook, Twitter, or email the link to a friend or family member. Thanks for the support!

https://vixymoney.wordpress.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angela
    Jan 10, 2012 @ 20:01:47

    Oh my gosh, that is a lot of reading material! I’m going to have to progress through your list very slowly and mix in some romance/fantasy/thriller novels in between so my head doesn’t explode. I did enjoy the Wealthy Barber in the past so maybe I should start with the Wealthy Barber Returns….

    Reply

  2. Heather Meyer
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 02:40:05

    I really like that one. Keep up the good work on your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

