Net worth update – January 2012

I know there are a lot of bloggers out there who post their actual net worth values and I enjoy following their progress. I will continue to post just percentages for now but this may change in the future.

Assets:

–          Cash – 1.06% of assets (-0.08%)

–          Savings – 20.60% of assets (-2.89%)

–          US cash account – 14.97% of assets (-0.24%)

–          Investments (Stocks) – 45.60% of assets (3.22%)

–          Investments (Other) – 18.89% of assets (+0.08%)

Liabilities: 0

Total Net Worth: +1.65%

I know it’s a lot of numbers, but it is interesting to me to see how things are moving. The increase is mainly due to how well the stock market performed in January.

Quick notes:

–         I made my TFSA contribution for 2012!

–         As a result of not earning an income last year, I am not eligible to make a RRSP contribution. With no contribution room carried forward, any contributions I make this year will be to my non-registered accounts. The added complexity of this is determining which investments to shield within an RRSP and which ones to purchase within a non-registered account. Cost will also be a factor as I invest in ETFs, which have transaction costs whenever you buy or sell.

How was the start of the year for you financially? Are you on track for your financial goals thus far?

I need your help! As this is a new blog, please spread the word on Facebook, Twitter, or email the link to a friend or family member. Thanks for the support!

https://vixymoney.wordpress.com/

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 01:37:08

    Looks like January wasn’t a bad month for you – 0.74% isn’t bad to go down if you had very little income 🙂 What is the difference between Investments (Other) and Investments (Stocks)? Do you count your registered investment accounts in the Other category and then Stocks is essentially your taxable investments?

    I hesitated for a long time about posting specific updates, but I eventually decided to with very broad categories (Cash, Savings, Investments).

    I’m still debating what to do with my mortgage loan/condo value, but I have a bit of time to decide on that one. One idea I’m throwing around is not changing the condo value at all, but always posting the amount of equity I have in the condo (purchase price minus mortgage loan balance). That way, readers can see how much the mortgage balance is going down by, but not how much the place is worth.

    The start of the year has been pretty good so far for me financially. January (almost) went according to plan and I’m sure this year will fold out even better for me financially than last year did.

    Reply

    • Vicky Vo
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 05:45:11

      All my stocks are included in the stocks number (RRSP, TFSA and non-registered accounts). My other investments include money invested in a land development project and money in a mortgage lending company.

      January was awesome for you! Keep it up!

      Reply

  2. My Own Advisor
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 02:11:19

    Love the liabilities figure 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

