Income – January 2012 Update

In retrospect, I might have been better off posting a 2011 income summary instead of a December summary, since December is definitely not the norm for my portfolio. I need to manage expectations better! 🙂 At the very least, it has started friendly competitions which I am pretty excited about. We will see how 2012 pans out!

So my income for January is as follows (rounded to the nearest $10):

Active income from financial consulting: $100 (Cheap labour people! Get it while you can!)

Interest income from my savings: $70

Dividend income from my investments (other): $0

Dividend income from my investments (stocks): $220

Total income: $390

Some notes on the above:

– Far cry from December’s number, but I’m still pretty happy that I can generate some income even without working a 9-5. I expect this number to drop a bit more as only my bond holdings generate dividends on a monthly basis.

-My investment income is automatically set to reinvest in more shares. If the money is not sufficient to buy additional shares, then it will increase my cash balance.

-To actually be financially free, my passive income should be enough to cover my monthly expenses. I still have a ways to go to get there, and this will always be my long term financial goal.

What do you think? Do you think of the money you earn as being active or passive? Is this something you would want to start tracking?

I need your help! As this is a new blog, please spread the word on Facebook, Twitter, or email the link to a friend or family member. Thanks for the support!

https://vixymoney.wordpress.com/

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 15:34:19

    I track my investment gains/losses each month alongside my salary and bonus income and expenses. I’m hopeful that some day my expenses will be less than my investment gains/losses overall for the year.

    How long will your savings last if you’re only earning $300/month?

    Reply

  2. RH
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 15:35:48

    Hey V – you mentioned monthy income from bonds. Do you invest in bonds individually or do you use a bond ETF to get exposure? If you are using a bond ETF what do you think about them?

    Keep up the posts!

    Reply

    • Vicky Vo
      Feb 12, 2012 @ 18:10:58

      Hey RH,

      I currently invest in bond ETFs as they give me diversification and they’re easy to purchase. I’m currently invested in XSB and XBB as the shorter duration is more ideal during our current interest rate environment. Unfortunately, they do both have MERs associated with them. I think once your portfolio gets to a certain size, it may be worth looking at individual bonds then.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

